I climbed a mountain…

Well it’s probably technically just a big hill, but it was a mountain to me.  Mt Clyde, which is in the Rewanui Forest Park, east of Masterton.  Such a lovely day for it, crisp and cold but not windy till we were at the top.  The view was fabulous.  We didn’t go as far as the trig, but probably two-thirds of the way to the top and stopped on a hill overlooking the surrounding area.  If you know me you will be probably know I hate climbing hills (or cycling them), but I have to say I enjoyed the climb and didn’t even complain all the way up, as it my usual modus operandi.  I must be maturing in my old age ;-)

This is the view from about halfway up.

???????????????????????????????

Cameron was very excited to find some animals bones to study (especially as they are studying bones at school), we couldn’t identify the animal but suspect it was a rabbit or possum.

???????????????????????????????

???????????????????????????????

Cameron on the climb to the top. The dog enjoyed the outing too.

???????????????????????????????

See I wasn’t lying, the final bit up to the top and I’m still smiling.

???????????????????????????????

If you look at the view in the right side of this photo you can see just how high up we are.

???????????????????????????????

Yay, the top!!!

???????????????????????????????

It was just after this I started to get a bit of vertigo, did I mention my fear of heights?  It was okay as long as I looked out over the view and not down.

???????????????????????????????

On the way home we stopped at Henley Lake for a few minutes to watch the model speed boats racing.

???????????????????????????????

???????????????????????????????

A nice morning out :-)

2 thoughts on “I climbed a mountain…

  1. mum

    Well that looked like a great climb, awesome views, good on you for climbing that far <3

Comments are closed.