Another 10 days…

since my last post.  We’ve been enjoying the holidays, doing lots of nothing special.  We had a day out at Castlepoint beach.  Left home where it was 28°C, out at the beach it was only 20°C, so a bit colder, not ideal for a swim, though Cam and I had a bit of a paddle.  Mine was unintentional though, I had to keep fetching him back as he keep going deeper and deeper into the lagoon. Still despite the cooler temp and blowing gale, we did have a nice picnic (huddled in the wind shelter), a nice walk up to the lighthouse and ice creams before coming home.

Nathan’s had a birthday.  17 now.  He got mail today to sign up for the electoral roll, he will be able to vote next year :-)  I got him a new violin, a good one this time.

Lilly had a great time away at Venture and made lots of new friends and got to try out things like the high ropes course. The group she was in travelled all over the bottom of the South Island, she got to see Dunedin, Mosgiel, Gore, Queenstown and Invercargill.  She was pretty tired when she got home.  Worth the cost.  Now to start fundraising for the winter Ski camp ;-)

I’ve been doing a bit of crafting, but not much.  Hard to get some time to myself without being interrupted.  I finished this single bed quilt, which is now for sale in my Felt shop. SOLD.

120

Now I’m working on the Girls Out to Sea quilt.  After that I have custom orders to fill.  Two boys single quilts and 2 girls single quilts.  I haven’t done any work on my Farmers Wife quilt, I have blocks 10 and 11 cut out, but haven’t sat down and sewn them yet.

Ian is busy today putting up the wall between the bathroom and toilet.  It will be nice to have then as separate rooms.

The broody hen hatched 6 chicks on the 12th of Jan.  She is such a good mother.  I was pretty disappointed with only a 50% hatch rate though, the rest of the eggs were not fertile.  Hopefully we will be getting our hay cut next week. It was meant to be done already but the weather poxed out.  The pigs get their last meal on Monday night.  Yay.  Sometimes they are a lot of work.

Well that’s all I can think of right now.

One thought on “Another 10 days…

  1. Mum

    Well sounds like everyone has had some fun, and for Lilly its so nice to sleep in her own bed, well 6 chicks are good, love the quilt, so cold today bbrrrrr.

Comments are closed.